Coming to visit

When you arrive in Denmark as a tourist, certain customs rules apply. The rules depend on whether you arrive from the EU or outside the EU, your age and the type of goods you bring with you.

  • If you buy goods in a non-EU country and you stop over in an EU country, the rules applying to goods bought in a country outside the EU apply.
  • You must inform SKAT if you carry an amount corresponding to more than EUR 10,000 when entering or leaving Denmark.

Which countries are members of the EU?

The Faroe Islands and Greenland are not considered members of the EU. The same goes for the Canary Islands (such as Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura), Åland Islands and the Channel Islands.

EU member countries

VAT refunds

Tourists living outside the EU are entitled to a refund of the Danish value-added tax (VAT) on goods they have purchased in Denmark.

VAT refunds - for tourists in Denmark who live outside the EU

For further legal information, please see SKAT's legal guide. Note that the guide is only available in Danish.
Display print friendly editionDisplay as PDF
Did the information answer your questions?